Skip to content
HomeChargerCalc
Menu
VS

Emporia vs ChargePoint EV Charger

Short answer

On the 60 amp circuit almost every household installs, the Emporia 48A at $449 and the ChargePoint HomeFlex hardwired at $494 both run at 48 amps and deliver 11.5 kW, so they charge at exactly the same speed. Buy the Emporia to spend less per delivered kilowatt; buy the ChargePoint for the better app and wider utility rebate eligibility.

The Emporia 48A hardwired charger at around $449 and the ChargePoint HomeFlex hardwired at around $494 are the two units most people end up choosing between once they have decided on a hardwired 48 amp install. They are both Wi-Fi connected, both hardwired, both available with either a J1772 or a NACS connector, and on the 60 amp circuit that virtually every household installs they deliver exactly the same 11.5 kW. Nothing about this decision is about charging speed, and any page that tells you otherwise is selling you a number that does not exist.

What you are actually choosing between is a software and support ecosystem attached to a 15 year piece of electrical hardware. Emporia is cheaper per delivered kilowatt and reports energy per session in a way that is genuinely more useful than its rival. ChargePoint has the more mature app, appears on more utility rebate and demand-response approved-model lists, and has a support organisation with people in it. Those are the trade-offs. Pick the one that matches how much you care about apps and paperwork.

Best value on the same circuit

Cheaper per delivered kilowatt
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A J1772

EMPORIA

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A J1772

$449.00

Identical delivered power to the ChargePoint on the same 60 amp circuit, for 45 dollars less, with per-session energy reporting that is genuinely better than what the more expensive unit shows you. Hardwired 48 amps, 25 foot cable, 11.5 kW.

Output
11.5 kW
Continuous
48 A
Circuit
60 A
Cable
25 ft
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired

Paid link. Price shown when researched.

Do they actually charge at different speeds?

No, and this is the single most misunderstood point in the comparison. ChargePoint markets the HomeFlex as a 50 amp charger and Emporia markets its unit as a 48 amp charger, which reads like a four percent advantage on the shelf. It is not one in a garage.

EV charging is a continuous load, so the National Electrical Code sizes the circuit at 125 percent of the charger's continuous draw. A 48 amp charger requires a 60 amp circuit. A 50 amp charger requires 62.5 amps, which rounds up to a 70 amp breaker and a heavier conductor. Essentially nobody installs a 70 amp circuit for a home charger, so the HomeFlex gets configured down to 48 amps during commissioning and runs on a 60 amp circuit like everything else in its class. Both units then deliver 48 amps at 240 volts, which is 11.5 kW.

Even in the rare house where a 70 amp circuit already exists, the difference is 0.5 kW. On a crossover doing 3.5 miles per kilowatt hour that is under two miles of range per hour of charging, which over an eight hour overnight session is about 14 miles. You will never notice it, and it is nowhere near worth the heavier conductor. Run your own numbers through the breaker size calculator if you want to see how quickly the circuit cost climbs past the value of the extra amperage.

Specification Emporia 48A ChargePoint HomeFlex
Price when researched $449.00 $494.00
Nominal maximum output 48 A 50 A
Output on a 60 amp circuit 48 A, 11.5 kW 48 A, 11.5 kW
Circuit needed for the nominal maximum 60 A 70 A
Cable length on the listing 25 ft Not stated, check listing
Install method Hardwired, whip supplied Hardwired
Connector options at this price J1772 or NACS J1772 or NACS
Energy Star stated on the listing On the NACS model only Not stated
Dynamic load management Pro model only, $599.00 Circuit sharing between stations
Utility program presence Fewer approved-model lists On more approved-model lists

Read the third and fourth rows together. The third row is what you get, and it is identical. The fourth row is what the marketing number costs, and it is a different breaker, a different conductor and in many houses a different answer to whether the panel can take the circuit at all. That is the whole speed argument, finished.

Which one costs less per kilowatt you actually receive?

Price per delivered kilowatt is a more honest comparison than sticker price, because it exposes the units that charge you for amperage a receptacle cannot pass. The table below divides the researched price by the power the unit genuinely delivers in a normal residential install.

Unit Price Real kW Per kW Comment
Emporia 48A hardwired $449.00 11.5 $39.04 Best price per delivered kilowatt here.
Emporia 48A NACS hardwired $479.00 11.5 $41.65 Thirty dollars for a different plug moulding.
ChargePoint HomeFlex hardwired $494.00 11.5 $42.96 App maturity and rebate presence is what the premium buys.
ChargePoint HomeFlex NACS hardwired $494.00 11.5 $42.96 No NACS surcharge, unlike Emporia.
Emporia Pro 48A $599.00 11.5 $52.09 The extra 150 dollars is load management, not speed.
Emporia 14-50 plug-in NACS $479.00 9.6 $49.90 Capped at 40 amps by the receptacle.
ChargePoint HomeFlex 6-50 plug-in $418.08 9.6 $43.55 Cheapest ChargePoint, three conductors.
ChargePoint HomeFlex 14-50 plug-in $657.99 9.6 $68.54 The worst value on the page by a wide margin.

One caveat on that table. The ChargePoint NACS listing does not state an amperage, so its 11.5 kW figure assumes the same HomeFlex platform as the J1772 hardwired model. Confirm the amperage on the listing before your electrician sizes the circuit, because that is the number the breaker is chosen from.

The Emporia hardwired unit wins that table at $39.04 per delivered kilowatt, and the plug-in ChargePoint on a 14-50 loses it badly at $68.54. The gap between the two hardwired flagships is $3.92 per kilowatt, or $45 in total, which is small enough that it should not decide the purchase on its own. Forty-five dollars is roughly three percent of a mid-range installation quote. If the ChargePoint app or a rebate is worth anything at all to you, it is worth more than that.

The Emporia line

Three units, all 48 amps on a 60 amp circuit, all delivering 11.5 kW. The differences are the connector and whether load management is built in.

Emporia, J1772
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A J1772

EMPORIA

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A J1772

$449.00

The volume seller in this class. Hardwired 48 amps on a 60 amp circuit for 11.5 kW, a 25 foot cable, Wi-Fi, and energy reporting broken out per charging session rather than per month.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Cable
25 ft
Connector
J1772

Trade-off A smaller support organisation than ChargePoint behind it, and no Energy Star listing stated on this model.

Check price
Emporia, NACS
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A NACS

EMPORIA

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A NACS

$479.00

The NACS version, preconfigured for a hardwired install with a whip. This is the one Emporia listing that states UL and Energy Star. Thirty dollars more than the J1772 version.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired

Trade-off A NACS cable will not reach a J1772 car without a separate adapter, so a mixed household should think twice.

Check price
Load management built in
Emporia Pro 48A with PowerSmart Load Management

EMPORIA

Emporia Pro 48A with PowerSmart Load Management

$599.00

The Emporia answer to a full panel. The listing names PowerSmart, Emporia’s load management system, which is the class of feature that lets a tight service carry a charger circuit without an upgrade.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Load mgmt
PowerSmart
Install
Hardwired

Trade-off 150 dollars more than the standard unit, and the sensors add install labour at the panel.

Check price

Paid links. Prices shown when researched and change without notice.

What does the ChargePoint app do that the Emporia app does not?

ChargePoint has been building charging software for far longer than Emporia has, and it shows in the parts of the experience that are boring to describe and annoying to live without. Onboarding is more forgiving, the scheduling interface is harder to set wrong, notifications behave sensibly, and the app has been through enough phone operating system versions that it does not break every autumn. There is also a support organisation behind it with phone numbers and escalation paths, which matters more than people expect on a device wired permanently into a house.

Emporia comes at it from the other direction. Emporia's core business is energy monitoring, and that heritage shows in the reporting: per-session energy, per-circuit visibility and a data model that treats a charger as one load among many in the house. If you already own an Emporia Vue energy monitor, the charger lands inside a dashboard you are already reading, and that integration is a real advantage the ChargePoint cannot match at any price.

Neither app is a reason to spend much money, because both cars and chargers can schedule and you should only use one of them. The failure most households hit is setting a schedule in the car and another in the charger, then wondering why the session started at midnight instead of 9pm. The rule is simple: pick one scheduler, turn the other off entirely, and prefer the car if you are choosing on longevity. The full argument is in smart charging and scheduling, and the wider app comparison across brands sits in best smart EV chargers.

The ChargePoint line

Two hardwired units at the same price with different connectors, plus the 6-50 plug-in that is the cheapest way into the range.

ChargePoint, J1772
ChargePoint HomeFlex, Hardwired 50A

ChargePoint

ChargePoint HomeFlex, Hardwired 50A

$494.00

Nominally a 50 amp unit, in practice set to 48 amps on the 60 amp circuit almost everyone installs. The app is the most polished in this comparison and the scheduling logic is the least fiddly.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Nominal max
50 A
Install
Hardwired

Trade-off Getting the full 50 amps means a 70 amp circuit, which is a real cost for 0.5 kW.

Check price
ChargePoint, NACS
ChargePoint HomeFlex NACS, Hardwired

ChargePoint

ChargePoint HomeFlex NACS, Hardwired

$494.00

The hardwired HomeFlex with a NACS cable, listed at the same price as the J1772 model, which makes the connector choice a coin flip rather than a paid upgrade. The listing does not state an amperage, so confirm the setting before you size the circuit.

Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Platform
HomeFlex
Amperage
Check listing

Trade-off Same adapter problem in reverse if the second car in the house uses J1772.

Check price
Cheapest ChargePoint
ChargePoint HomeFlex, NEMA 6-50 Plug

ChargePoint

ChargePoint HomeFlex, NEMA 6-50 Plug

$418.08

The forgotten bargain in the ChargePoint range. A NEMA 6-50 plug means three conductors instead of four, and it costs 239.91 dollars less than the 14-50 version for exactly the same 9.6 kW output.

Output
9.6 kW
Circuit
50 A
Plug
6-50
Continuous
40 A

Trade-off A 6-50 receptacle is less common than a 14-50, so it is a worse fit if you ever want to sell the house on the outlet.

Check price

Paid links. Prices shown when researched and change without notice.

Which one handles a tight panel better?

This is where the two brands genuinely diverge, and where the money is. A 60 amp continuous circuit is a large addition to a residential service, and on a 100 amp panel it frequently does not fit under a load calculation. The traditional fix is a service upgrade at 3,000 to 7,000 dollars. The modern fix is dynamic load management: a device that watches the main service and throttles the charger when the rest of the house draws heavily, so the total never exceeds the service rating.

Emporia sells that as a distinct product. The Emporia Pro at around $599 is listed with PowerSmart, which Emporia describes as measuring whole house draw at the main and reducing charging current in real time. That is the mechanism that lets a 100 amp service carry a nominally 60 amp charger circuit, and 150 dollars over the standard unit is an extremely cheap way to buy it if the alternative is a panel upgrade.

ChargePoint's power management is a different animal. Its documented feature set centres on sharing one circuit between two ChargePoint stations, which is exactly right for a two car garage on a single feeder and does nothing at all for a house whose problem is total service capacity. ChargePoint's strength on the capacity question is indirect: it is the brand more likely to be accepted into a utility demand-response programme, where you let the utility pause charging during peak events in exchange for a bill credit or an upfront rebate.

If your panel is the constraint, work the numbers before you choose a brand, because the answer may be that neither charger is the purchase you should be making first. Read load management versus a panel upgrade, which prices a 400 dollar device against a 4,000 dollar service upgrade, and then decide.

Charger output Breaker Power at 240 V Typical copper Where it fits
32 A 40 A 7.7 kW 8 AWG Plenty for a car with a 6.6 or 7.2 kW onboard charger.
40 A 50 A 9.6 kW 6 AWG The most common home install. Fits a NEMA 14-50 outlet.
48 A 60 A 11.5 kW 6 AWG Hardwired only. Saturates almost every onboard charger sold.

That table is the reason a 48 amp unit is a bigger commitment than its 40 amp sibling. The step from a 50 amp circuit to a 60 amp one moves you out of receptacle territory entirely, because NEMA 14-50 tops out at 40 amps continuous. Above 40 amps continuous the charger is hardwired, full stop, and that is true of both brands equally.

What about the plug-in versions?

Both brands sell plug-in units, and both are worth understanding before you assume a plug-in is the cheap option. The Emporia 14-50 plug-in with a NACS connector at around $479 is described as a 48 amp charger, and it is one, but it cannot behave like one through a NEMA 14-50 plug. A 50 amp receptacle supports 40 amps continuous, so the unit runs at 40 amps and delivers 9.6 kW. That is not a defect, it is the receptacle's limit, and it applies identically to the ChargePoint HomeFlex on a 14-50 at around $657.99.

Comparing those two is the clearest value judgement on this page. Both deliver 9.6 kW. One costs $178.99 less than the other and adds a NACS connector. The only argument for the ChargePoint at that price is the app and the rebate list, and $178.99 is a great deal more than the $45 the hardwired comparison asks you to weigh.

The genuinely interesting plug-in is the ChargePoint HomeFlex on a NEMA 6-50 at around $418.08. It delivers the same 9.6 kW as the 14-50 version for $239.91 less, and a 6-50 circuit is three conductors rather than four because it carries no neutral, which makes the wiring cheaper too. If you want a ChargePoint and your electrician has not run the circuit yet, this is the version to ask about. The only real downside is that a 6-50 is a less familiar receptacle to a future owner of the house.

The plug-in variants, both capped at 9.6 kW

A NEMA 14-50 receptacle supports 40 amps continuous no matter what the box says, so every plug-in unit here delivers 9.6 kW rather than 11.5.

Plug-in, NACS
Emporia Level 2 NEMA 14-50 Plug-In, 48A NACS

EMPORIA

Emporia Level 2 NEMA 14-50 Plug-In, 48A NACS

$479.00

A 48 amp capable unit on a NEMA 14-50 plug, which means it runs at 40 amps and 9.6 kW in practice because a 14-50 receptacle tops out at 40 amps continuous. The cheapest way into the Emporia app.

Real output
9.6 kW
Circuit
50 A
Plug
14-50
Connector
NACS

Trade-off The 48 amp figure on the box is unreachable through a 14-50 plug. Do not pay for it twice.

Check price
Plug-in, J1772
ChargePoint HomeFlex, NEMA 14-50 Plug

ChargePoint

ChargePoint HomeFlex, NEMA 14-50 Plug

$657.99

The plug-in HomeFlex, and the most expensive unit on this page for the least output. It exists because people want a ChargePoint they can unplug and take when they move.

Real output
9.6 kW
Circuit
50 A
Plug
14-50
Connector
J1772

Trade-off 657.99 dollars for 9.6 kW is the worst price per delivered kilowatt in this comparison.

Check price

Paid links. Prices shown when researched and change without notice.

Which connector should be on the wall?

Both brands sell each unit in J1772 and NACS versions, and the pricing tells you something about each company. ChargePoint charges the same $494 either way. Emporia charges $449 for J1772 and $479 for NACS, so the connector is a 30 dollar decision there.

The rule for a single car household is simple: buy the connector your car has and skip adapters altogether. For a mixed household the rule is nearly as simple, and it runs in one direction only. Put J1772 on the wall and buy a J1772 to NACS adapter for the Tesla, because adapters in that direction are around 30 dollars and widely certified. Do not put NACS on the wall and plan to adapt down to a J1772 car, because adapters in that direction cost well over 100 dollars and are the part most people discover after the charger is already bolted up. The connector transition and both adapter directions are covered in NACS versus J1772.

So which one should you buy?

Buy the Emporia if you are paying for the installation yourself with no rebate in play, if you want the best price per delivered kilowatt, or if you already run Emporia energy monitoring and want the charger to appear in the same dashboard. It is the correct default for a single car household on a panel with room.

Buy the ChargePoint if your utility names it on a rebate or demand-response approved-model list, if you value a mature app and a real support organisation on a device you cannot easily replace, or if you are installing two stations that need to share one circuit. Forty-five dollars is a small premium for any one of those, and a rebate frequently makes the ChargePoint the cheaper unit outright.

Buy the Emporia Pro instead of either if a load calculation says your service is tight, because 150 dollars of load management is a rounding error next to a service upgrade. And buy nothing at all until you know what your car accepts: most vehicles cap at 11.5 kW, several sit near 10.9, and a Nissan Leaf or an early Toyota bZ4X accepts 6.6 kW and gains absolutely nothing from either charger on this page.

Where to go next

If you have settled on 48 amps, the full field at that output including Wallbox, Autel, Leviton and Tesla is in best 48 amp EV chargers. If you have not settled on 48 amps yet, run the breaker size calculator first, because the circuit is the part of this project that stays in the wall for thirty years while the charger on it gets replaced twice.

We review them on their own too, in full detail: the Emporia 48 amp and the ChargePoint Home Flex.

Common questions

Does the Emporia charge a car faster than the ChargePoint?

No. On the 60 amp circuit that nearly every household installs, both units run at 48 amps and deliver 11.5 kW, which is identical. The ChargePoint is nominally a 50 amp charger, but reaching 50 amps continuous requires a 70 amp circuit under the 125 percent rule and almost nobody installs one. Even if you did, the gain is 0.5 kW, or roughly two miles of range per hour.

Which one should I buy if I want a utility rebate?

Check your own utility programme before you buy either, because eligibility is usually written against a list of specific approved models rather than a category. ChargePoint appears on more of those lists than Emporia does, and it is more commonly named in demand-response programmes that pay you to let the utility pause charging at peak. Those lists change, so confirm the current one rather than trusting a page like this.

Is the Emporia Pro worth 150 dollars more than the standard Emporia?

Only if your panel is tight. The Pro charges at exactly the same 11.5 kW as the standard unit. What the money buys is PowerSmart, which reads your main service with current sensors and throttles the charger when the house draws heavily. If a load calculation says you have no room for a 60 amp circuit, that feature can replace a service upgrade costing 3,000 dollars or more. If you have room, skip it.

What happens to these chargers if the company shuts down its servers?

Both units keep charging. A Level 2 charger is fundamentally a contactor and a safety negotiator, and the cloud service adds scheduling, energy reporting and remote control on top. If the service ends you lose the app features and keep the charging. The practical hedge is to schedule from the car rather than the charger, since the car will still be scheduling in a decade regardless of who owns the brand.

Why is the ChargePoint 14-50 plug-in so much more expensive than the 6-50 version?

It is the same charger with a different plug moulding, and the 239.91 dollar gap is pricing rather than engineering. The 14-50 is the receptacle most people have heard of, so it carries a premium. Both units run at 40 amps continuous and deliver 9.6 kW, because that is the ceiling of any 50 amp receptacle. If your electrician has not run the circuit yet, the 6-50 needs one fewer conductor.

Should I get the NACS version or a J1772 version plus an adapter?

If every car in the household has a NACS inlet, buy the NACS unit and skip the adapter entirely. If the household is mixed, buy J1772 on the wall and add a J1772 to NACS adapter for around 30 dollars, because adapters in that direction are cheap and widely certified. The reverse direction, adapting a NACS cable to a J1772 car, costs well over 100 dollars and is the trap worth avoiding.

Getting your own panel and load numbers ready for an electrician? The EV Home Charging Install Planner is the paid version of these pages: 8 printable worksheets you fill in with your own numbers, plus the full PDF, $29.

How this page was researched

Specifications come from manufacturer documentation, listed safety certifications and verified owner reviews. We do not perform hands-on product testing and never claim to. Figures are researched planning information, not professional electrical advice. Last reviewed 2026-08-17.