Skip to content
HomeChargerCalc
Menu
VS

Tesla Wall Connector vs Third Party

Short answer

The Tesla Universal Wall Connector is the only home charger that carries both a NACS cable and a J1772 connection in one unit, which makes it the clean answer for a household with one Tesla and one J1772 car. Third-party NACS units such as the Emporia 48A NACS at $479 deliver the same 11.5 kW with better energy reporting, and a J1772 charger plus a $29.99 J1772 to NACS adapter is the cheapest path of all.

The original Tesla Wall Connector is a NACS-only hardwired unit with a 24 foot cable that charges at up to 48 amps on a 60 amp circuit. It is a good charger and an awkward one, because the connector on the end of that cable fits Teslas and recent Hyundai and Kia models and nothing else. The Tesla Universal Wall Connector changes exactly one thing and it is the thing that matters: it carries both NACS and J1772, which makes it the only single wall unit in this catalogue that cleanly serves a household with one Tesla and one J1772 car. Check the current price on both, because Tesla pricing is the variable that decides this comparison.

Everything else here is about a triangle. Tesla sells the only dual-connector unit. Third-party NACS units such as the Emporia 48A NACS at around $479 undercut the Tesla units and add per-session energy reporting neither Tesla unit provides. And a plain J1772 charger plus a $29.99 adapter is cheaper than any of them while serving every car on the market. The right answer depends entirely on which cars park in your garage now and which ones you think will park there in five years.

Best for a mixed-car household

One unit, both plugs
View on Amazon

Tesla

Tesla Universal Wall Connector

The only single wall unit that carries both a NACS cable and a J1772 connection, which makes it the clean answer for a household with one Tesla and one J1772 car. Hardwired, up to 48 amps on a 60 amp circuit, 24 foot cable. Check the current price before you commit, because it is the one number that decides whether it beats a third-party unit plus an adapter.

Output
11.5 kW
Continuous
48 A
Circuit
60 A
Cable
24 ft
Connectors
NACS and J1772
Install
Hardwired

Paid link. Price shown when researched.

What actually differs between these chargers?

Less than the brand loyalty around them suggests. All the wall units here are hardwired, all top out at 48 amps, all require a 60 amp circuit under the 125 percent continuous load rule, and all therefore deliver 11.5 kW at 240 volts. A Model 3 and a Model Y both accept 11.5 kW, which means every single one of these chargers saturates the car and they all finish charging at the same moment.

So the differences are the connector on the cable, the length of that cable, what the unit tells you about the energy it moved, and the price. Cable length is nearly a wash where it is published at all: both Tesla wall units state 24 feet and the J1772 Emporia states 25, while the NACS listings from Emporia, ChargePoint and Wallbox state no length, which is worth checking before you fix a mounting position. Energy reporting is where the third-party units win clearly, because Emporia's core business is energy monitoring and it treats the charger as one measured load in a house. Price is where the comparison actually gets decided, and it is the one number this page will not quote for the Tesla units, because it moves. Check the current price and put it in the table below yourself.

Unit Price Serves Mixed household Cable
Tesla Wall Connector Check current price NACS cars Needs a NACS to J1772 adapter at $169.99 24 ft
Tesla Universal Wall Connector Check current price NACS and J1772 cars No adapter needed 24 ft
Emporia 48A NACS $479.00 NACS cars Adapter direction not assured, verify first Not stated
ChargePoint HomeFlex NACS $494.00 NACS cars Adapter direction not assured, verify first Not stated
Wallbox Pulsar Plus 48A NACS $699.99 NACS cars Adapter direction not assured, verify first Not stated
Emporia 48A J1772 $449.00 J1772 cars J1772 to NACS adapter at $29.99 25 ft

The fourth column is the whole argument. Only one row in that table says no adapter needed while also serving both connector types, and it is the Universal Wall Connector. Every other row either restricts you to one family of cars or asks you to buy an adapter, and the adapters are not priced alike.

The three Tesla units

Two hardwired 48 amp wall chargers that differ only in connector coverage, plus the portable Mobile Connector that is a travel unit rather than a home one.

NACS only
Tesla Wall Connector, 48A

Tesla

Tesla Wall Connector, 48A

The original. NACS only, up to 48 amps on a 60 amp circuit, hardwired, with a 24 foot cable that is longer than most competitors ship. Serves a Tesla perfectly and every other car awkwardly. Check the current price on the listing.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Cable
24 ft
Connector
NACS

Trade-off A J1772 car needs a NACS to J1772 adapter, and that direction costs well over 100 dollars.

Check price
Both connectors
View on Amazon

Tesla

Tesla Universal Wall Connector

The same body and the same 24 foot cable, with both NACS and J1772 handled by one unit. This is the only wall charger in this catalogue that serves a mixed household with no adapter at all.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Cable
24 ft
Connectors
NACS and J1772

Trade-off No energy reporting to match Emporia, and the price is the variable that decides the comparison.

Check price
Portable
Tesla Mobile Connector, 32A

Tesla

Tesla Mobile Connector, 32A

$300.00

Not a wall charger. A 32 amp portable NACS unit with a 20 foot cable, which is the travel and second house answer rather than the daily driver answer. Delivers 7.7 kW at most on a 40 amp circuit.

Output
7.7 kW
Continuous
32 A
Circuit
40 A
Cable
20 ft

Trade-off At $300.00 it costs almost as much as a 48 amp wall unit while delivering 3.8 kW less.

Check price

Paid links. Prices shown when researched and change without notice.

Which way does the adapter trap run?

This is the part that costs people money, and it is entirely avoidable if you learn it before the charger is bolted to the wall rather than afterwards. Adapters exist in both directions between NACS and J1772, and the two directions are nothing like each other on price.

Going from a J1772 wall unit to a NACS car is cheap. The LENZ J1772 to NACS adapter is around $29.99, rated for 80 amps and listed to UL 2251. It is a small passive part in enormous production volume, which is why it costs less than a set of wiper blades. Every Tesla can use one, and it turns any J1772 charger into a Tesla charger.

Going the other way is expensive. The Lectron NACS to J1772 adapter is around $169.99, and that is what it costs to let a J1772 car charge from a Tesla Wall Connector. It is a more complex part with a smaller market, and the pricing reflects it. There is a second and less obvious catch: adapters in this direction are specified against Tesla equipment, so do not assume one works on a third-party NACS wall unit. Verify the specific combination with the adapter manufacturer, and treat an unverified pairing as unsupported.

Adapter direction What it enables Typical price Verdict
J1772 to NACS A Tesla or other NACS car charging from a J1772 wall unit $29.99 Buy this direction. Cheap, certified, ubiquitous.
NACS to J1772 A J1772 car charging from a Tesla Wall Connector $169.99 Works, but design your install so you never need it.
NACS to J1772 on a third-party NACS unit Uncertain. Specified for Tesla equipment only $169.99 Verify with the manufacturer before assuming it works.

The practical rule that falls out of that table is short. If you are not certain every car in the household will have a NACS inlet for the life of the charger, put J1772 on the wall and keep a 30 dollar adapter handy. If every car already has NACS, buy a NACS unit and skip adapters entirely. The full adapter field, including which certifications to insist on, is in best NACS and J1772 adapters, and the wider connector transition is covered in NACS versus J1772.

The cheapest mixed-household path

A J1772 wall charger plus the cheap adapter direction totals $478.99 and serves every car on the market. The expensive adapter is here so you can see what avoiding it is worth.

The cheap path
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A J1772

EMPORIA

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A J1772

$449.00

The J1772 half of the cheapest mixed-household solution. Hardwired 48 amps for around $449, plus a 30 dollar adapter for the Tesla, which totals less than any NACS wall unit on this page.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Connector
J1772
Cable
25 ft

Trade-off The Tesla driver has to keep an adapter in the car or hanging on the wall, and adapters get lost.

Check price
Buy this direction
LENZ J1772 to NACS Adapter, 80A, UL 2251

LENZ

LENZ J1772 to NACS Adapter, 80A, UL 2251

$29.99

The cheap adapter direction. Around $29.99, rated 80 amps, listed to UL 2251, and it lets any NACS car charge from a J1772 wall unit. This is the part that makes a J1772 charger the universal choice.

Direction
J1772 to NACS
Rating
80 A
Standard
UL 2251
For
Tesla and NACS cars

Trade-off One more thing to keep track of, and a cheap uncertified adapter is a genuinely bad idea.

Check price
Avoid needing this
Lectron NACS to J1772 Adapter for Wall Connectors

Lectron

Lectron NACS to J1772 Adapter for Wall Connectors

$169.99

The expensive adapter direction, and the one people discover after the charger is bolted up. Around $169.99 to let a J1772 car charge from a Tesla Wall Connector, Destination Charger or Mobile Connector.

Direction
NACS to J1772
Rating
80 A
For
J1772 cars
Works with
Tesla equipment

Trade-off Specified for Tesla equipment, so do not assume it works on a third-party NACS wall unit.

Check price

Paid links. Prices shown when researched and change without notice.

What does each complete path cost?

Chargers get compared on sticker price and installed as systems, so compare the systems. The table below prices each realistic route to charging one Tesla and one J1772 car at home on the same 60 amp circuit. Installation labour is excluded because it is identical across every row: a hardwired 48 amp unit is a hardwired 48 amp unit.

Path Hardware Adapters Verdict
Tesla Universal Wall Connector alone Check current price None Cleanest install. One unit, two plug types, nothing to lose.
Emporia 48A J1772 plus a J1772 to NACS adapter $449.00 $29.99 Total $478.99. The cheapest genuine mixed-household path.
Emporia 48A NACS alone $479.00 None Perfect for an all-NACS household. Wrong for a mixed one.
Tesla Wall Connector plus a NACS to J1772 adapter Check current price $169.99 The expensive way to reach the same place as the Universal.
ChargePoint HomeFlex NACS alone $494.00 None All-NACS households that want the better app and rebate list.
Wallbox Pulsar Plus 48A NACS alone $699.99 None Pay for the compact enclosure, not for the charging.

The second row is the quietly remarkable one. A J1772 Emporia 48A at $449 plus a $29.99 adapter totals $478.99, which is one cent less than the NACS version of the same charger costs on its own, and it serves both cars instead of one. That is the cheapest honest answer to the mixed-household question, and the only reason not to take it is that somebody has to remember where the adapter lives.

The Universal Wall Connector wins on elegance rather than on price. There is no adapter to lose, no conversation about which cable goes in which car, and no future purchase if the household composition changes. Whether that is worth its price is a question only the current listing can answer, which is exactly why you should look it up rather than trust a number on a web page.

Third-party NACS wall units

Three hardwired 48 amp chargers with a NACS cable, all delivering the same 11.5 kW. Choose on reporting, app quality and enclosure size, because the charging is identical.

Best value NACS
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A NACS

EMPORIA

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger, 48A NACS

$479.00

A hardwired 48 amp NACS unit for around $479, preconfigured with a whip, listed as UL and Energy Star. It undercuts the Tesla units on features per dollar because it reports energy per charging session.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Connector
NACS
Cert
UL, Energy Star

Trade-off The listing states no cable length, so confirm it reaches your charge port before you commit to a mounting position.

Check price
Best app
ChargePoint HomeFlex NACS, Hardwired

ChargePoint

ChargePoint HomeFlex NACS, Hardwired

$494.00

The hardwired HomeFlex with a NACS cable at around $494. The most mature app of any unit on this page and the brand most likely to appear on a utility rebate approved-model list. The listing states no amperage, so confirm it before your electrician sizes the circuit.

Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Platform
HomeFlex
Amperage
Check listing

Trade-off Fifteen dollars more than the Emporia for reporting that is arguably less detailed.

Check price
The compact option
View on Amazon

Wallbox

Wallbox Pulsar Plus 48A NACS

$699.99

A 48 amp NACS Pulsar Plus at around $699.99. Wallbox builds the compact end of this category, which matters if the charger is going somewhere a person walks past every day, though the listing itself states only the amperage and the connector.

Output
11.5 kW
Circuit
60 A
Connector
NACS
Continuous
48 A

Trade-off The most expensive way to buy 11.5 kW here, and the listing states no cable length or enclosure size.

Check price

Paid links. Prices shown when researched and change without notice.

Does any of this change what your car can accept?

No, and that is worth stating plainly because connector debates distract from the number that actually limits home charging. The wall unit offers current, the car's onboard AC charger decides how much to take, and the lower figure wins. A Tesla Model 3 and a Tesla Model Y both accept 11.5 kW. A Tesla Cybertruck also accepts 11.5 kW despite a 123 kWh pack, which is why a large Tesla takes a long overnight session rather than a fast one.

On the J1772 and NACS boundary, two vehicles are worth naming. The Hyundai Ioniq 5 accepts 10.9 kW and recent model years ship a NACS inlet, so a Hyundai owner has to check which port their own car has rather than assuming. The Ford Mustang Mach-E accepts 10.5 kW through a CCS1 inlet, which uses the J1772 AC pins, so it charges from any J1772 unit and needs the expensive adapter direction to use a Tesla Wall Connector.

Vehicle Inlet as delivered Onboard AC limit Charger output that saturates it Circuit
Tesla Model 3 NACS 11.5 kW 48 A 60 A
Tesla Cybertruck NACS 11.5 kW 48 A 60 A
Hyundai Ioniq 5 NACS 10.9 kW 48 A 60 A
Ford Mustang Mach-E CCS1 10.5 kW 48 A 60 A

Every row in that table lands on 48 amps and a 60 amp circuit, which is a useful reassurance: whichever unit you pick from this page, the electrical work is the same job. If you want to see the sizing arithmetic for yourself, the breaker size calculator applies the 125 percent rule to any output, and the Model 3 specifics including cable reach and port location are on the Tesla Model 3 page.

Charger output Breaker Power at 240 V Typical copper Where it fits
40 A 50 A 9.6 kW 6 AWG The most common home install. Fits a NEMA 14-50 outlet.
48 A 60 A 11.5 kW 6 AWG Hardwired only. Saturates almost every onboard charger sold.

What about the Mobile Connector?

The Tesla Mobile Connector at around $300.00 gets bought as a home charger far more often than it should be. It is a 32 amp portable unit with a 20 foot cable, which means 7.7 kW on a 40 amp circuit against 11.5 kW from any wall unit on this page. Paying $300 to charge 3.8 kW slower than a $449 charger is a poor trade for a car that lives in one garage.

Where it earns its place is travel and second properties: a cabin with a 14-50 already installed, a relative's house you visit monthly, or a hedge against arriving somewhere with only a dryer outlet. Treated as luggage rather than as infrastructure, it is a sensible purchase. Treated as the nightly charger, it is the most expensive way to charge slowly.

So which should you buy?

Buy the Universal Wall Connector if your household is genuinely mixed and you want the tidiest possible install with nothing to lose, misplace or verify, and if its current price lands within about 150 dollars of the third-party NACS units. It is the only product that solves the mixed-connector problem in a single box.

Buy a third-party NACS unit if every car in the driveway has a NACS inlet. The Emporia at $479 is the value choice and adds per-session energy reporting the Tesla units do not provide, the ChargePoint at $494 is the choice if your utility rebate list names it, and the Wallbox Pulsar Plus 48A NACS at $699.99 is the choice if enclosure size genuinely matters where it is going.

Buy a J1772 unit plus a $29.99 adapter if you want the cheapest path, the most future-proof one, or both. It costs $478.99 all in, serves every car sold in North America, and survives any change of mind about which brand of car you drive. That is the recommendation for most households, and the reason it is not the top pick on this page is only that a mixed household with a strong preference for zero adapters has one genuinely better option.

Where to go next

The complete field of chargers for a Tesla, NACS units and J1772 units with adapters priced against each other, is in best EV chargers for Tesla. If you have not decided on the connector yet, read NACS versus J1772 first, because that decision constrains everything else on this page.

We review them on their own too, in full detail: the Tesla Wall Connector and the Emporia NACS charger.

Common questions

What does the Universal Wall Connector do that the original does not?

It carries both connector types in one unit, so a Tesla and a J1772 car can both charge from the same wall box with no adapter in anybody’s glovebox. The original Wall Connector is NACS only. Everything else is the same: hardwired, up to 48 amps on a 60 amp circuit, 24 foot cable, 11.5 kW. If your household is all Tesla, the Universal buys you nothing.

Is a Tesla Wall Connector faster than a third-party charger?

No. Both Tesla wall units top out at 48 amps, which is 11.5 kW at 240 volts on a 60 amp circuit, and that is exactly what the Emporia, ChargePoint and Wallbox NACS units deliver. There is no Tesla-only speed advantage at home. A Model 3 or Model Y accepts 11.5 kW, so every one of these chargers saturates it and they all finish at the same time.

Which adapter direction is cheap and which is expensive?

A J1772 to NACS adapter, which lets a Tesla charge from a J1772 wall unit, costs around 30 dollars and is widely certified. A NACS to J1772 adapter, which lets a J1772 car charge from a Tesla Wall Connector, costs around 170 dollars. That asymmetry is the single most useful fact on this page, because it means putting J1772 on the wall keeps every option open at the lowest cost.

Can I use a NACS to J1772 adapter on a third-party NACS charger?

Do not assume so. The adapters in this class are specified against Tesla Wall Connectors, Destination Chargers and Mobile Connectors, and compatibility with a third-party NACS unit is a separate question about latch geometry and pilot signalling. Verify with the adapter manufacturer for the specific charger before you buy, and treat an unverified combination as unsupported rather than as probably fine.

Should I buy a NACS charger if my next car might be a Tesla?

Buy J1772 on the wall and a 30 dollar adapter. That combination charges a Tesla today, charges a J1772 car today, and still works whichever direction your driveway goes in five years. A NACS wall unit is the better choice only when every car in the household already has a NACS inlet and you are confident that will stay true, because reversing that decision later is the expensive direction.

Is the Tesla Mobile Connector a substitute for a wall charger?

Not for daily home charging. It is a 32 amp portable unit with a 20 foot cable, so it delivers 7.7 kW on a 40 amp circuit against 11.5 kW from a wall unit. At $300.00 it costs nearly as much as a hardwired 48 amp charger while delivering 3.8 kW less. Buy it as a travel unit or for a second property, not as the charger you use every night.

Getting your own panel and load numbers ready for an electrician? The EV Home Charging Install Planner is the paid version of these pages: 8 printable worksheets you fill in with your own numbers, plus the full PDF, $29.

How this page was researched

Specifications come from manufacturer documentation, listed safety certifications and verified owner reviews. We do not perform hands-on product testing and never claim to. Figures are researched planning information, not professional electrical advice. Last reviewed 2026-08-17.